Home Students Academics Admissions Faculty & Staff Research Retention Grant Programs Directory  


Graduate Programs
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

African Studies & Research (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Mbye Cham

Email: mcham@howard.edu

Phone: 202-238-2324

Director of Graduate Studies: Robert Edgar

Email: redgar@howard.edu

Phone: 202-238-2356

African Studies M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Development Studies and Public Policy Studies; Africa in World Affairs and Language, Literature and the Arts

Phone: 202-238-2328


Anatomy (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Donald Orlic

Email: donald.orlic@howard.edu

Phone: 202-322-9922

Director of Graduate Studies: Thomas Heinbockel

Email: theinbockel@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5677

Anatomy M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, Neuroscience, Evolutionary & Organismal Biology;

Phone: 202-806-6555


Art History (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Tony McEachern

Email: ammceachern@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7047


Art M.A. Specialization: Art History;


Admission to the master's degree program in Art History (M.A.) has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.


Atmospheric Science (Graduate Program Website)

Program Director, Director of Graduate Studies: Vernon Morris

Email: vernon.morris@gmail.com

Phone: (202) 865-8678    


Atmospheric Science M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: remote sensing, aerosol physics and chemistry, air quality modeling, climate modeling and analysis, tropical meteorology;

Phone: 202-806-6246


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Matthew George, Jr.

Email: mgeorge@howard.edu

Phone:  202-806-5430 

Director of Graduate Studies: Sudha Sharma

Email: sudha.sharma@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9765

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Biotechnology; Ph.D. specializations: Enzymology, Metabolic Regulation, Molecular Biology, Biochemical Nutrition, and Clinical Biochemistry;

Phone: 202-806-6289


Biology (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Clarence Lee

Email: cmlee@howard.edu

Phone: 202-865-8568 

Director of Graduate Studies: Broderick Eribo

Email: beribo@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6937

Biology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Cell and Molecular Biology; Evolution, Ecology and Systematic Biology;
Phone: 202-806-6935


Chemical Engineering (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Ramesh Chawla

Email: rchawla@howard.edu

Phone: 202- 806-6617

Director of Graduate Studies: John Tharakan

Email: jtharakan@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4811

Chemical Engineering M.S. Specializations: Nanomaterials, Nanotechnology and Nanoprocessing, Environmental Engineering, and Bioprocess Engineering, Energy Systems and Fuel Cells, Process Control and Reactor Modeling, Transport Phenomena

Phone: 202-806- 6624


Chemistry (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Oladapo Bakare

Email: obakare@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6882

Director of Graduate Studies: William Stockwell

Email: wstockwell@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6700

Chemistry M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Analytical Chemistry, Atmospheric Chemistry, Biochemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Laser Chemistry, Nanotechnology, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry;

Phone: 202-806- 6900


Civil and Environmental Engineering (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Kimberly L. Jones

Email: kljones@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4807

Director of Graduate Studies: Claudia Marin

Email: cmarin@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6580

Civil Engineering M.Eng., M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Environmental and Water Resources Engineering, Structural Engineering, Engineering Mechanics, Earthquake Engineering, Transportation Systems Engineering, and Geotechnical Engineering.

Phone: 202-806- 6570


Communication Sciences & Disorders (Graduate Program Website)

Interim Department Chair: Joan Payne

Email: jpayne@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6967

Director of Graduate Studies: Kay Payne

Email: kpayne@howard.edu

Phone: 202- 806-4054

Communication Sciences and Disorders M.S. Specialization; Speech Pathology; PH.D. SPECIALIZATION: Communication Science

Phone: 202-806-6990


Communication, Culture and Media Studies (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair, Director of Graduate Studies: Carolyn Byerly

Email: cbyerly@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5121


Communication, Culture and Media Studies
Howard University Department of Communication, Culture and Media Studies, 
Room C246, C.B. Powell Building

Phone: 202-806-4426

Economics (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Rodney Green 

Email: rgreen@howard.edu

Phone: 202-865-8572 

Director of Graduate Studies: C. Kenrick Hunte

Email: chunte@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6717

Economics M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Growth and Development, International, Urban, and Labor

Phone: 202-806-6717


Education (Graduate Program Website)

Director of Graduate Studies:
Angela D. Ferguson

Email: adferguson@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7340



Education M.A., M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Counseling, School Psychology, Educational Psychology

Phone: 202-806-7340


Electrical & Computer Engineering (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Mohamed Chouikha 

Email: mchouikha@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4816 

Director of Graduate Studies: Charles Kim

Email: ckim@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4821

Electrical and Computer Engineering: M. Eng. Specializations: Electromagnetic, Materials and Solid State Electronics, Power Systems and Control, Control Systems, Computer Engineering, Communications and Signal Processing.
Ph.D. specializations: Communications and Signal Processing, Motion Controls and Drives, Applied Microelectronics and Solid State Electronics, Power Systems and Control

Phone: 202-806-6585


English (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Dana Williams

Email: d_williams@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5371

Director of Graduate Studies: Gregory Hampton

Email: ghampton@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-6700

English M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: African American Literature, American Literature, Caribbean Literature, British Literature, and Literary Criticism

Phone: 202-806-4220


Genetics & Human Genetics (Graduate Program Website)

Director of Graduate Studies:
Kareem Washington

Email: kareem.washington@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9499

Director of Genetic Counseling: 
Barbara Harrison

Email: bwharrison@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6329

Genetics and Human Genetics M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Biochemical and Molecular Genetics, Clinical Genetics-Genetic Counseling, and Psychosocial Aspects of Genetic Disorder

Phone: 202-806-6381


Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Roberta Hollander  

Email: rhollander@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-7142

Director of Graduate Studies: Denyce Calloway

Email: dcalloway@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7183

Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies M.S. Specializations: Exercise Physiology, Health Education, Sport Management, and Sports Sociology

Phone: 202-806-7142

Admission to the master's degree program in Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.



History (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Edna Medford 

Email: emedford@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9365

Director of Graduate Studies: Jeffrey Kerr-Ritchie

Email: ritchie@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9365

History MA, Ph.D. Specializations: United States, Africa, Latin American and Caribbean, and African Diaspora. MA only in Modern Europe and Public History

Phone: 202-806-6815


Mass Communication & Media Studies Program (Graduate Program Website) 

This program has been merged with Communication, Culture and Media Studies



Mathematics (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: 
Dr. Bezandry & Diagana


Phone: 202-806-7131

Director of Graduate Studies: Paul Bezandry

Email: pbezandry@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7131

Director of Graduate Studies: Katherine Gurski

Email: kgurski@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6700

Mathematics M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Analysis, Combinatorics, Differential Geometry and Lie Theory, Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems, Fluid Mechanics, Number Theory, Probability, Statistics, Topological Semigroups, Algebra, and Mathematical Biology
Phone: 202-806-7122



Mechanical Engineering (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Horace Whitworth  

Email: hwhitworth@fac.howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6600

Director of Graduate Studies: James Hammonds

Email: jhammonds@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6565

Mechanical Engineering M.Eng., Ph.D. Specializations: fluid and thermal sciences; applied mechanics; and design and manufacturing; hwhitworth@howard.edu;
Phone: 202-806-6600



Microbiology (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Kunle Kassim

Email: kkassim@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7578

Director of Graduate Studies: Paulette Furbert-Harris

Email: pfurbert-harris@howard.edu


Microbiology Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Immunology, Virology, Pathogenic Microbiology, Cell and Molecular Biology (Cancer), and Genomics
Phone: 202-806-6284


Nutritional Science (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Thomas Fungwe

Email: thomas.fungwe@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-xxxx

Director of Graduate Studies: Allan Johnson

Email: ajohnson@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-5666

Nutritional Science M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Experimental Nutrition, Nutrition and Community Nutrition
Phone: 202-806-6238


Pharmaceutical Sciences (Graduate Program Website)  

Department Chair: Muhammad Habib

Email: mhabib@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6529

Director of Graduate Studies: 



Pharmaceutical Sciences Ph.D. Specializations: Pharmaceutics, Pharmacy Administration and Medicinal Chemistry
Phone: 202-806-4273


Pharmacology (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Robert Taylor

Email: rtaylor@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6311

 Director of Graduate Studies: Martha Davila-Garcia

Email: mdavila-hgarcia@howard.edu 

Phone: 202-806-7834 

Pharmacology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Neuro and Behavioral, Cardiovascular, Cancer, Toxicology (Cellular and Molecular)
Phone: 202-806-6311

Philosophy (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Joseph Asike

Email: pgoodin@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5533

Director of Graduate Studies: Charles Verharen

Email: cverharen@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6811

Philosophy M.A. Specializations: Africana (African, African American, and Afro-Caribbean) *Philosophy; Ethics and Public Policy.

For programs denoted above by (*) admission to the master's degree program in Philosopy has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.


Physics & Astronomy (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Quinton Williams

Email: quinton.williams@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6246

Director of Graduate Studies: Tristan Hubsch

Email: thubsch@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6267

Physics and Astronomy M.S. , Ph.D. Specializations: Atmospheric Physics, Computational Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, High Energy Particle Physics, Plasma Physics, Spectroscopy and Optical Physics
Phone: 202-806-6245


Physiology & Biophysics (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Kebreten Manaye

Email: kmanaye@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6346

Director of Graduate Studies: Dexter Lee

Email: dllee@howard.edu

Phone: 202 806-6339

Physiology and Biophysics Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Neurophysiology, Cardiovascular, Endocrinology and Cellular Physiology; Cardiovascular, Pulmonary, and Renal Physiology.
Phone: 202-806-6330


Political Science (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Clarence Lusane

Email: mnwanze@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9343

Director of Graduate Studies: Michael Fauntroy

Email: Michael.Fauntroy@howard.edu


Political Science M.A., M.A.P.A., Ph.D. specializations: American Government and Politics, Public Administration and Public Policy, Comparative Government, International Relations, Political Theory and Black Politics.
Phone: 202-806-6720

The Master of Arts in Public Administration (MAPA) degree program has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree in the Master of Arts in Public Administration (MAPA) students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.


Psychoeducational Studies 

Department Chair: Kimberley Freeman

Email: kefreeman@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7340

Director of Graduate Studies: Angela Ferguson

Email: adferguson@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7340

Psychoeducational Studies
Phone: 202-806-7350


Psychology (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Angela Cole Dixon

Email: apcole@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6805

Director of Graduate Studies: Wade Boykin

Email: boykin@crespar.law.howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9447

Psychology M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Social Psychology, Personality, Neuropsychology, Developmental, Experimental, and Clinical Psychology.
Phone: 202-806-9447


Social Work (Graduate Program Website)

Chairman: Sandra E. Crewe

Email: secrewe@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7320

Director of Graduate Studies: Tricia Bent-Goodley

Email: tbent-goodley@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4729

Social Work Ph.D. Specializations: Family and child welfare, mental health and health, displaced populations, criminal justice and gerontology.
Phone: 202-806-7306


Sociology & Anthropology (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chairman: Rubin Patterson

Email:  rubin.patterson@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6858

Program Director: Marie-Claude Jipguep-Akhtar

Email: mjipguep-akhtar@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7780

Sociology and Anthropology M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Criminology, Medical Sociology, Social Inequality; Race/ Ethnicity, Class, and Gender/ Sexuality, Urban Sociology.

Phone: 202-806-6858


Systems & Computer Science (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Legand Burge

Email: lburge@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-4852

Department Chair: Jiang Li

Email: jli@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-4861

Systems and Computer Science M.C.S. Specializations: Software Engineering, Computer Security, Artificial intelligence, Data Communications, Computer Systems.
Phone: 202-806-4831


World Languages & Culture (Graduate Program Website)

Department Chair: Marie-Line Sephocle

Email: msephocle@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6758

Director of Graduate Studies: Clement Akassi

Email: cakassi@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6700

World Languages & Culture M.A. Specializations: *French Language and Literature, French Language and Linguistics, Afro-French Literature, *Spanish Language and Literature, Spanish Language and Linguistics, Afro-Hispanic Literature, and Foreign Language Education.

For programs denoted above by (*) admission to the master's degree program in World Languages and Culture has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.


OTHER Schools and Colleges Offering Graduate Degrees

In addition to the Graduate School, School of Business: 202-806-1500; School of Communications: 202-806-7690; School of Divinity: 202-806-0500; School of Education: 202-806-7340;& College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences: 202-806-6565; School of Social Work: 202-806-7300; College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Health Sciences: 202-806-5431

How to Apply

Transcripts, scores, and letters of recommendations (in sealed envelopes) should be sent directly from the colleges and universities attended.



Copyright © Howard University, Graduate School, All rights reserved.
4th and College Streets, NW, Washington DC 20059 |
Contact Webmaster
Tel.:202-806-6800 Fax.:202-462-4053 Contact Howard - WWW Disclaimer - Graduate School Archives