Home Students Academics Admissions Faculty & Staff Research Retention Grant Programs Directory  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Graduate Programs
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

African Studies & Research

Department Chair: Mbye Cham

Email: mcham@howard.edu

Phone: 202-238 2324

Director of Graduate Studies: Robert Edgar

Email: redgar@howard.edu

Phone: 202-238-2356

African Studies M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Development Studies and Public Policy Studies; Africa in World Affairs and Language, Literature and the Arts

Phone: 202-238-2328

(top)

Anatomy

Department Chair, Director of Graduate Studies: Thomas Heinbockel

Email: theinbockel@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9873

 

Anatomy M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, Neuroscience, Evolutionary & Organismal Biology;

Phone: 202-806-6555

(top)

Art History

Department Chair: Tony McEachern

Email: ammceachern@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7047

 

Art M.A. Specialization: Art History;

Phone: 202-806-7047

Admission to the master's degree program in Art History (M.A.) has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

(top)

Atmospheric Science

Program Director, Director of Graduate Studies: Everette Joseph

Email: ejoseph@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-6256

 

Atmospheric Science M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: remote sensing, aerosol physics and chemistry, air quality modeling, climate modeling and analysis, tropical meteorology;

Phone: 202-806-6246

(top)

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Department Chair: Matthew George

Email: mgeorge@howard.edu

Phone:  202-806-6289 

Director of Graduate Studies: W. Malcolm Byrnes

Email: wbyrnes@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9749

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Biotechnology; Ph.D. specializations: Enzymology, Metabolic Regulation, Molecular Biology, Biochemical Nutrition, and Clinical Biochemistry;

Phone: 202-806-6289

(top)

Biology

Department Chair: Clarence Lee

Email: cmlee@howard.edu

Phone: 202-865-8568 

Director of Graduate Studies: Broderick Eribo

Email: beribo@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6937

Biology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Cell and Molecular Biology; Evolution, Ecology and Systematic Biology;
Phone: 202-806-6935

(top)

Chemical Engineering

Department Chair: Ramesh Chawla

Email: rchawla@howard.edu

Phone: 202- 806-6624/4794

Director of Graduate Studies: John Tharakan

Email: jtharakan@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4811

Chemical Engineering M.S. Specializations: Nanomaterials, Nanotechnology and Nanoprocessing, Environmental Engineering, and Bioprocess Engineering, Energy Systems and Fuel Cells, Process Control and Reactor Modeling, Transport Phenomena

Phone: 202-806- 6625

(top)

Chemistry

Department Chair: Vernon Morris

Email: vmorris@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-8678

Director of Graduate Studies: Galina Talanova

Email: gtalanova@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4963

Chemistry M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Analytical Chemistry, Atmospheric Chemistry, Biochemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Laser Chemistry, Nanotechnology, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry;

Phone: 202-806- 6900

(top)

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Department Chair: Kimberly L. Jones

Email: kljones@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4807

Director of Graduate Studies: Errol Noel

Email: enoel@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6570

Civil Engineering M.S. specializations: Environmental and Water Resources Engineering, Structural and Engineering Mechanics, Transportation Systems Engineering, and Geotechnical Engineering;

Phone: 202-806- 6570

(top)

Communication, Culture and Media Studies

Department Chair: Barbara Hines

Email: bahines@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5122

 


Communication, Culture and Media Studies
Howard University School of Communications
Room C246 Washington, DC 20059

Phone: 202-806-5122 Fax: 202-806-9227


(top)

Computer Science

Department Chair: Legand Burge

Email: lburge@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-4852

Department Chair: Jiang Li

Email: jli@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-4861

 

Systems and Computer Science M.C.S. Specializations: Software Engineering, Computer Security, Artificial intelligence, Data Communications, Computer Systems.
Phone: 202-806-4831


(top)

Communication Sciences & Disorders

Interim Department Chair: Joan Payne

Email: jpayne@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6990 

Director of Graduate Studies: Kay Payne

Email: kpayne@howard.edu

Phone: 202- 806-4054


Communication Sciences and Disorders M.S. Specialization; Speech Pathology; PH.D. SPECIALIZATION: Communication Science

Phone: 202-806-6990

(top)

Economics

Department Chair: Rodney Green 

Email: rgreen@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7256 

Director of Graduate Studies: C. Kenrick Hunte

Email: chunte@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6717


Economics M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Growth and Development, International, Urban, and Labor

Phone: 202-806-6717

(top)

Education

Director of Graduate Studies:
Angela D. Ferguson

Email: adferguson@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7340

 

 

Education M.A., M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Counseling, School Psychology, Educational Psychology

Phone: 202-806-7340

(top)

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Department Chair: Mohamed Chouikha 

Email: mchouikha@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806- 6585 

Director of Graduate Studies: Charles Kim

Email: ckim@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4821

Electrical and Computer Engineering: M. Eng. Specializations: Electromagnetic, Materials and Solid State Electronics, Power Systems and Control, Control Systems, Computer Engineering, Communications and Signal Processing.
Ph.D. specializations: Communications and Signal Processing, Motion Controls and Drives, Applied Microelectronics and Solid State Electronics, Power Systems and Control

Phone: 202-806-6585


(top)

English

Department Chair: Dana Williams

Email: d_williams@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6730

Department Chair: Gregory Hampton

Email: ghampton@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-6700

English M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: African American Literature, American Literature, Caribbean Literature, British Literature, and Literary Criticism

Phone: 202-806-7730

(top)

Genetics & Human Genetics

Department Chair and Director of Graduate Studies: Kareem Washington

Email: kareem.washington@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9499

Director of Genetic Counseling: Barbara Harrison

Email: bwharrison@@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6329

Genetics and Human Genetics M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Biochemical and Molecular Genetics, Clinical Genetics-Genetic Counseling, and Psychosocial Aspects of Genetic Disorder

Phone: 202-806-6381

(top)

Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies

Department Chair: Roberta Hollander  

Email: rhollander@howard.edu

Phone: (202) 806-7142

Director of Graduate Studies: Denyce Calloway

Email: dcalloway@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7142

Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies M.S. Specializations: Exercise Physiology, Health Education, Sport Management, and Sports Sociology

Phone: 202-806-7142

Admission to the master's degree program in Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

 

(top)

History

Department Chair: Edna Medford 

Email: emedford@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9365

Director of Graduate Studies: Ana Araujo

Email: aaraujo@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-9362

History MA, Ph.D. Specializations: United States, Africa, Latin American and Caribbean, and African Diaspora. MA only in Modern Europe and Public History

Phone: 202-806-7030

(top)

Mass Communication & Media Studies Program

This program has been merged with Communication, Culture and Media Studies

 

 

(top)

Mathematics

Department Chair: Abdul-Aziz Yakubu 

Email: ayakubu@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6830

 

Mathematics M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Analysis, Combinatorics, Differential Geometry and Lie Theory, Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems, Fluid Mechanics, Number Theory, Probability, Statistics, Topological Semigroups, Algebra, and Mathematical Biology
Phone: 202-806-6830

 

(top)

Mechanical Engineering

Department Chair: Sonja Smith  

Email: ssmith@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4837

Director of Graduate Studies: James Hammonds

Email: jhammonds@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6622

Mechanical Engineering M.Eng., Ph.D. Specializations: fluid and thermal sciences; applied mechanics; and design and manufacturing; hwhitworth@howard.edu;
Phone: 202-806-6600

 

(top)

Microbiology

Department Chair: Agnes Day 

Email: aday@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6284

Director of Graduate Studies: Earl Bloch

Email: ebloch@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-4673

Microbiology Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Immunology, Virology, Pathogenic Microbiology, Cell and Molecular Biology (Cancer), and Genomics
Phone: 202-806-6285


(top)

Nutritional Science

Department Chair:Thelma Baker

Email: ajohnson@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6238

Director of Graduate Studies: Allan Johnson

Email: ajohnson@howard.edu

Phone:

Nutritional Science M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Experimental Nutrition, Nutrition and Community Nutrition
Phone: 202-806-6238

(top)

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Department Chair: Muhammad Habib

Email: mhabib@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6529

Director of Graduate Studies: Eunkyung Lee

Email: eunlee@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7231

Pharmaceutical Sciences Ph.D. Specializations: Pharmaceutics, Pharmacy Administration and Medicinal Chemistry
Phone: 202-806-4478

(top)

Pharmacology

Interim Chair, Director of Graduate Studies: Robert Taylor

Email: rtaylor@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6311

 

 

Pharmacology M.S., Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Neuro and Behavioral, Cardiovascular, Cancer, Toxicology (Cellular and Molecular)
Phone: 202-806-6311



(top)

Philosophy

Department Chair: Joseph Asike

Email: pgoodin@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6811

Director of Graduate Studies: Charles Verharen

Email: cverharen@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6811

Philosophy M.A. Specializations: Africana (African, African American, and Afro-Caribbean) *Philosophy; Ethics and Public Policy.
Phone: 202-806-6811


For programs denoted above by (*) admission to the master's degree program in Philosopy has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.


(top)

Physics & Astronomy

Department Chair: Prabhakar Misra

Email: pmisra@Howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6245

Director of Graduate Studies: Tristan Hubsch

Email: thubsch@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6267

Physics and Astronomy M.S. , Ph.D. Specializations: Atmospheric Physics, Computational Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, High Energy Particle Physics, Plasma Physics, Spectroscopy and Optical Physics
Phone: 202-806-6246


(top)

Physiology & Biophysics

Department Chair: Werner Graf

Email: wgraf@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6330

Director of Graduate Studies: Kebreten Manaye

Email: kmanaye@howard.edu

Phone: 202 806-6346

Physiology and Biophysics Ph.D., M.D./Ph.D. Specializations: Neurophysiology, Cardiovascular, Endocrinology and Cellular Physiology; Cardiovascular, Pulmonary, and Renal Physiology.
Phone: 202-806-6330

(top)

Political Science

Department Chair: Daryl B. Harris

Email: polisci@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6720

Director of Graduate Studies: John Cotman

Email: jcotman@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6848

Political Science M.A., M.A.P.A., Ph.D. specializations: American Government and Politics, Public Administration and Public Policy, Comparative Government, International Relations, Political Theory and Black Politics.
Phone: 202-806-9383

The Master of Arts in Public Administration (MAPA) degree program has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree in the Master of Arts in Public Administration (MAPA) students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.

(top)

Psychology

Department Chair: Alfonso Campbell

Email: acampbell@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6805

Director of Graduate Studies: Wade Boykin

Email: boykin@crespar.law.howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6805

Psychology M.S., Ph.D. Specializations: Social Psychology, Personality, Neuropsychology, Developmental, Experimental, and Clinical Psychology.
Phone: 202-806-6805

(top)

Social Work

Interim Dean: Dr. Sandra Edmonds Crewe

Email: secrewe@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7300

Director of Graduate Studies: Dr. Tricia Bent-Goodley

Email: tbent-goodley@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-7305

Social Work Ph.D. Specializations: Family and child welfare, mental health and health, displaced populations, criminal justice and gerontology.
Phone: 202-806-7306

(top)

Sociology & Anthropology

Department Interim Chair: Vernetta Young

Email: vyoung@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-5325

Director of Graduate Studies: Ernest Quimby

Email: equimby@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6853

Sociology and Anthropology M.A., Ph.D. Specializations: Criminology, Medical Sociology, Social Inequality; Race/ Ethnicity, Class, and Gender/ Sexuality, Urban Sociology.

Phone: 202-806-6858

(top)

World Languages & Culture

Department Chair: Marie-Line Sephocle

Email: jdavis@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6758

Director of Graduate Studies: Clement Akassi

Email: cakassi@howard.edu

Phone: 202-806-6700

World Languages & Culture M.A. Specializations: *French Language and Literature, French Language and Linguistics, Afro-French Literature, *Spanish Language and Literature, Spanish Language and Linguistics, Afro-Hispanic Literature, and Foreign Language Education.
Phone: 202-806-6758

For programs denoted above by (*) admission to the master's degree program in World Languages and Culture has been discontinued effective January 2011. Currently enrolled master's degree students must complete degree requirements by August 2014.


(top)

OTHER Schools and Colleges Offering Graduate Degrees

In addition to the Graduate School, School of Business: 202-806-1500; School of Communications: 202-806-7690; School of Divinity: 202-806-0500; School of Education: 202-806-7340;& College of Engineering, Architecture and Computer Sciences: 202-806-6565; School of Social Work: 202-806-7300; College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Health Sciences: 202-806-5431


How to Apply

Transcripts, scores, and letters of recommendations (in sealed envelopes) should be sent directly from the colleges and universities attended.

 

 

Copyright © Howard University, Graduate School, All rights reserved.
4th and College Streets, NW, Washington DC 20059 |
Contact Webmaster
Tel.:202-806-6800 Fax.:202-462-4053 Contact Howard - WWW Disclaimer - Graduate School Archives